David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens Win Nobel in Economics 2021

The three were honored for research that drew conclusions from unintended experiments.,


Continue reading the main story

Nobel in economics goes to David Card, Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens.

A Nobel Prize medal in 2020.
A Nobel Prize medal in 2020.Credit…Jacquelyn Martin/Associated Press
  • Oct. 11, 2021, 6:06 a.m. ET

David Card, Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens have made a career of studying unintended experiments — Mr. Card in labor economics and Mr. Angrist and Mr. Imbens in analyzing relationships.

On Monday, their work earned them the 2021 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Two American economists affiliated with Stanford University, Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson, won the 2020 Nobel in economics for improvements to auction theory. Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo of M.I.T. and Michael Kremer of Harvard won in 2019 for their experiment-based research in development economics.

The award, formally called the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, has been given 53 times since 1969.

  • The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian, who independently discovered key mechanisms of how people sense heat, cold, touch and their own bodily movements.

  • Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi were recognized with the Nobel Prize in Physics for work that “laid the foundation of our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and how humanity influences it.”

  • The Nobel Prize in Chemistry went to Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan for their development of a new tool to build molecules, work that has spurred advances in pharmaceutical research and allowed scientists to construct catalysts with considerably less impact on the environment.

  • Abdulrazak Gurnah was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for “his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.”

  • Two journalists thousands of miles apart, Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitri A. Muratov of Russia, were honored with the Nobel Peace Prize for their tireless efforts to hold the powerful to account.

Leave a Reply